• Over the years, the Association has introduced trophies for each major sport.
  • Typically, these trophies commemorate the name of a former Associated School’s Headmaster, or someone who has made a significant contribution to the Association’s life.
  • It is important to note only 1st teams in the Open age group compete for premierships and the trophies associated with winning the premiership. In the event of more than one team / school locked on the same total of points at the completion of the season / championship Joint premierships are awarded ( under no circumstances are play-offs to decide the premiership ).
  • A record of winning teams / schools over the years can be found on this site under each sport.
  • The trophies awarded in each sport are :


The Andrew Reid Esq Challenge Cup – first awarded in 1929 to Knox Grammar School by Mr Andrew Reid, Managing Director of James Hardy and Co. Mr Reid was a founding member of the Knox Grammar School council and benefactor from 1923 – 1938 and was also a member of the CAS General Committee.


The Thyne Challenge Shield first awarded in 1932 to St. Aloysius College. The events were held at each individual school swimming carnival.

On March 6, 1933 the five schools convened at Manly Municipal Baths for the Swimming Championships.

“Thyne” was a family name of the Reid’s – as in Thyne-Reid. The swimming trophy was donated by Mrs Reid.


The Rev Fr A.V. Smith Basketball Shield first awarded to Knox Grammar in 1978. Fr Smith had a great love for basketball as Headmster of St Aloysius’ College from 1986 until 2003. He coached the St Aloysius’ College 2nd V from 1995-2002. Fr Smith was always on hand to watch every 1st V that followed his own game.
In recognition of his support and interest in Basketball, it was decided by the Heads of CAS to acknowledge Fr Smith by having the Associated Schools of NSW Basketball Shield named after him.

Mr Paul Fedeles ( Barker College ) is also recognised on the CAS v ISA representative trophy for all his efforts as Convener, MIC & Coach of CAS Basketball teams for many years.


The F H Archer Shield, which commemorates the service to the Association of F H Archer Esq., Headmaster of Trinity Grammar School from 1917 to 1922.
In the early 1920’s, Mr Archer attempted to form an Association between Barker, Trinity, Knox and St. Aloysius.


The Henry Plume Shield, commemorating the Founding Headmaster of Barker College (1890-1905) Rev Henry Plume.
The Henry Plume Shield was presented to the CAS by three old boys of Barker College ( Douglas Bobart, Walter Moodie and Donald Campbell ) in 1930 for the Rugby competition.

FOOTBALL ( Soccer )

The Thomas Grimson OAM Cup first awarded to Barker College in 1990.

The NSW Soccer federation donated the Thomas Grimson AM Cup as a perpetual trophy. Mr Grimson was a life member of the Australian and NSW Soccer Federation. He served the code with distinction and placed great faith in the youth of this country.


The CAS Tennis Trophy is only awarded to the winners of the Summer competition.

The CAS Winter Trophy is only awarded to the winners of the Winter competition


The Neil Logan – CAS Cross Country Open Champion Team Shield. This shield was first won in 1990 by Knox Grammar and acknowledges the efforts of Mr Neil Logan ( Barker 1989 – 2007 ) towards Cross Country in it’s inaugural years.

The Michael Spratt Cup is awarded to the winners of an overall event including results in the 14s, 16s & Open event. This Cup is named in honour of Michael Spratt from Trinity Grammar for his tireless work in promoting and running Cross Country both at Trinity and for the CAS. It was first awarded in 2014.


The CAS Debating Shield. This competition started in 1932 and a trophy was first awarded in 1991.


The C.J.S Purdy Cup Cecil John Seddon Purdy (1906-1979), chess master and author. Cecil was educated at Cranbrook School and the University of Sydney (B.A., 1930). Representing Australia in the first World Correspondence Chess Championship, he surprised the chess world by winning the tournament which ended in 1953. He was granted the titles of international chess master (1951) and international grand master of correspondence play (1953). Four time winner of the Australian Chess Championship and two time winner of the New Zealand Championship. First awarded in 2001 to the school with the most wins in a season. This competition has been going since 1990.


The Steven Barnett Shield – CAS Diving Shield is awarded to the winning team at the annual CAS Swim & Diving Championships. Steven Barnett was a student at Trinity Grammar who excelled at Diving and went on to represent Australia.


The Len Nixon Shield is award to the 1st placed CAS school in the combined CAS/GPS Water Polo competition. The Shield is named in recognition of Len Nixon and his 41 years service to Barker College and the CAS. Twenty years as Barker College 1st Water Polo coach and MIC at Barker and various coaching roles in CAS. The Shield was first awarded in 2018.


In 2019 AFL was recognised as an official CAS Premiership and separate CAS competition was conducted followed by a combined Independent Schools Competition.