U16 CAS Rugby Team Results

In great weather 8 teams contested the NSWSRU 16s Championships and selection trials at Curagul Field. The CAS team had a very tough draw playing the very big and skilled CCC team. An early defensive lapse allowed and well executed try from CCC to see them take the lead that they would not relinquish. CCC would go on to win the tournament.

CCC 17 (L. Hutchinson-Walters, T.Giles tries, L. Hutchinson-Walters 2 con, L. Hutchinson-Walters pen)

CAS 5 (J. Cameron try)

In the second game of the day CAS faced GPS (B). A much more committed effort from the team saw the scored tied at 5 all at half time. After the break the team came out firing and scored all of the points in the second half to run out winners.

CAS 24 (W. Kablau, T. Constable, S. Rechner, M. Hawkes tries, L. Vass 2 con)

Pres XV B 5 (J. Jones try)

The second day saw CAS contesting the Bowl Final against ISA (II). After starting poorly in the first game to boys were determined not to make the same mistake twice and to try and ensure that their names were placed in front of the selectors for positions in the NSW Schools team. A dominate display was put on show with ISA suffering a heavy defeat by the boys in red.

NSWSRU Life Member’s Shield:

CAS 58 (S Kennedy, O. Hughes, J. Cameron, A. Pakutoa, S. Rechner, K. Galloway (3), J. McNeill, D. Breden tries, B. Pollack (2), L. Vass (2) con)

ISA II 5 (H. Scott tries).

The NSWSRU U16 teams will be announced on Wednesday 5 July after the annual meeting between Schools, NSW Country and Sydney Juniors.

NSW Schools Rugby committee understands that this may cause an issue with travel plans and understands if any student withdraws their availability. This is due this year to the ARU and their change of the 16s structure and also whilst waiting for Sydney Juniors to complete their regional trials and announce their team next weekend.

Players selected will be contacted on the Wednesday by the managers of the teams. The teams will be posted on the website as well. Good luck to all with selections.

Comments are closed.